Recording Heat Stroke, Pt. 11

Apologies for this blog going up late, but there’s a good reason for it. Just to catch everyone up, I imposed a deadline on myself on recording. That deadline was the end of September. There were some reasons for that; some were reasonable and others were arbitrary. Regardless, one of the biggest reasons reared its ugly head about a month ago. And that affected everything about Heat Stroke: everything from the lyrics to my desire to finish it. I won’t get into all that, but I am going to talk about the results.

First of all, like I mentioned before, the lyrics were affected. Fortunately, there are only 6 songs that mattered much in that department. The intro is essentially instrumental, “Hotter Than a Mothereffer” and “Countdown to a Breakdown” are sort of throwaway songs, lyrically at least. So the remaining songs have a decent amount of lyrics, and I had to make adjustments, additions, and subtractions in order for everything to be honest.

Looking at everything in a positive light, I’m pretty sure when I came up with that sadish song, the aforementioned big crappy thing that happened hadn’t happened yet. At the time, I didn’t have anything sad to write about, and I didn’t have any lyrics to go with it. But yeah, I do now. Speaking of which, I still don’t have a final title for the song. The vocals are in, so you’d think I’d be able to come up with one, but…no. Like most of my songs, there isn’t a chorus or especially memorable vocal part in the song that could serve as a title. But the title I have been rolling with, even before I had any lyrics written at all, is “And So the Ice Melts.” It’s sort of pretentious sounding, so I might change it or include something in parentheses in addition to it. I don’t know.

Then there’s the fast/heavy song I penned at the 11th hour of my recording sessions. I had 8 songs more or less nailed down, and after listening to them in their various states of completion, I realized that overall, the album was a little slow. That’s pretty uncharacteristic of my stuff, so I decided to do a fast song. It ended up becoming “Wildfire,” and it’s one of my favorite songs on the album. A funny thing about that song is that I had to re-record a verse (and ultimately a few others because I couldn’t get my voice to sound like it did when I originally recorded them) because there was a line that I didn’t think sounded dubious until a couple days ago. The line goes, ” …I wanna be straight although it gives me stomach-aches…” I don’t know. I thought it sounded like I meant I wanted to be heterosexual, as if I wasn’t already. I’m sure enough people think I’m gay without seemingly alluding to it, so I didn’t want to fan the flame (no pun intended). Not that there would be anything wrong with that. I just didn’t want that line to come off differently than I intended. So now the line is, “…I want things to be straight although it gives me stomach-aches…” Anyway, the song is pretty guitar oriented and sounds pretty awesome aside from some audio glitchiness in the guitar parts that I can’t fix.

Even after all this crap happened, I still intended to be done by tonight, but that doesn’t look like it’s happening. I listened to the current mixes in my car earlier today, which is listening place of choice, and I discovered things that need to be fixed in almost all the songs. They’re small things, but they bothered me the more I listened to the songs, so I need to fix them.

Ooh. Another sort of fun yet annoying task I gave myself came up a few days ago. As I was mixing/mastering/whatever the songs, for whatever reason, I was questioning the length of them. One song got cut down by a lot because I decided I didn’t like how the chorus sounded. I realize it probably the song might sound a little awkward without a chorus at all, but..whatever. And then on one or two other songs, I made the instrumental parts not as long if they weren’t particularly interesting. And then on on or two songs, I actually made them longer because I felt like they were too short. As a whole, the album playing time is about the same: about 30 minutes.

So this is kind of a crappy update on top of it being late. It’s hard to say if I’ll be done by Friday, the normal blog posting day, but that’s what I’m shooting for. Since I still don’t have samples ready, I’ll leave you with the tentative tracklisting. The order isn’t final, and neither are the song titles, but yeah.

1. Intro
2. Hotter Than a Mothereffer
3. Burn It Down (Repetition of the Competition)
4. Novelty
5. Wildfire
6. A Little Disco
7. I’m On Fire
8. And So the Ice Melts
9. Countdown to a Breakdown

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *